The Bipolar Break Up Blog   Leave a comment

MBA Speak: There has been a lot of spin about whether or not it’s ethical to break up with a mentally ill partner, and if so, what is best practice? What wasn’t noodled on was now that  I’ve drank the Kool Aid and walked over the hot coals, what’s my end game?

Translation:  I decided from all I read it was appropriate to break up with my fiancee.  I did so slowly and hopefully as compassionately as possible, although I did have my moments of anger.  But now that it’s done, how will I get on with my life?

I don’t think it’s possible to flick a switch and just stop loving somebody.  Even with all the anger I felt during our relationship, love existed simultaneously.   These two emotions are not exclusive to one another.   You can hate long car rides but still love your car.  And being Bipolar, I have all the inherent second guessing as to whether she could have changed, did I do enough to help, should I have gotten her family involved and most hauntingly, how would I feel if the tables were turned and she left broken-Bipolar me?

The hardest part is that we could get back together.  I miss her voice, her softness, her face and her smell.  If she would have me I’d rush back into her arms.  And she might feel the same way.  The depression borne from my yearning for her touch could be easily cured by re-establishing that connection.

But intellectually, I know it is the wrong thing to do.  I have to reach into my Bipolar brain and press the “override” button because reverting to what is comfortable won’t be that way for long.  And, I will have negated all the strength I summoned from the depths of my tortured soul to leave and actually make the break.  Plus, going back to status quo wouldn’t be doing her any favors either.  Maybe me leaving will cause her to finally get help for the issues she has been shoveling under the rug displacing all those poor little turds for years.

However the hard part is yet to come.  I know we will run into each other.  What if she is with another guy?  What if they are kissing and holding hands?  What if they are feeling each other up right in front of me?  What if they are having lude sex before my very eyes on a sushi bar?  Am I getting ridiculous?  Welcome to my head where anything is possible, no matter how implausible.  Where just seeing her standing alone in a supermarket with a schemata on her head will invoke hiddeous jealousy.

There is only one mainstream catch all phrase that actually applies to this, and don’t worry, it’s not “snap out of it.”  It’s that “time heals all wounds.”  I truly do believe time does make a difference because a person can get used to a new reality.  However there is another part of that phrase that is often left out.  It’s “time heals all wounds, but wounds can leave nasty scars.”  But a nasty scar is a lot better than having your ex-fiancee’s name tattooed across your chest.

Leave a Reply

